BBT SE uses a dual management system. The company is managed by two CEOs, one located in Austria and one in Italy.
The Supervisory Board oversees the activities of the CEOs and the company.

Board of management

Konrad Bergmeister

Konrad Bergmeister

has been the Austrian CEO of BBT SE since August 2006. He was previously the technical director and head engineer of the company managing the Brenner highway and was responsible for the planning and construction of new infrastructure and for maintenance of the existing structures. For the past 20 years, he has taught construction engineering at the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences in Vienna. He has been the President of the Free University in Bolzano since 2010. Bergmeister has published over 350 papers and books and is a member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and of the Leopoldina Academy of Natural Research in Halle.
Raffaele Zurlo

Raffaele Zurlo

has been the Italian CEO of BBT SE since May 2010. After studying civil engineering at the University of Naples he accumulated international experience in the building sector and In project financing for infrastructure projects. He later served on the board of directors of a French company before joining ITALFERR S.p.A. At ITALFERR, Zurlo was the director of procurement and general affairs for seven years. ITALFERR is an engineering company belonging to the Italian railway group Ferrovie dello Stato SpA. As of 2008, Zurlo was a member of a group of experts consulting on tender procedures and construction work for the Brenner Base Tunnel.

Members of the Supervisory Board


Federal Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology
Chairman of the Supervisory Board
SC Dipl.-Ing. Herbert Kasser (since 01.12.2004)

ÖBB Infrastruktur AG
Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Georg-Michael Vavrovsky (since 23.01.2006)

ÖBB Infrastruktur AG
Dipl.-Ing. Franz Bauer (since 22.04.2014)

Land Tyrol
Dipl.-Ing. Robert Müller (since 21.07.2016)

Gorbach consulting GmbH
Former vice-chancellor of the Repubblic of Austria Hubert Erich Gorbach (since 22.05.2018)

Federal Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology
Mag. Roland Schuster, MBA (since 21.10.2014)


FS S.p.A.
Vice-chairman of the Supervisory Board
Prof. Lamberto Cardia (since 08.11.2010)

RFI S.p.A.
Dott. Ing. Maurizio Gentile (since 21.07.2016)

RFI S.p.A.
Dott. Hermann Berger (since 21.07.2016)

Province of Bolzano
Dott. Martin Ausserdorfer (since 25.11.2013)

Province of Trento
Prof. Raffaele Mauro (since 21.07.2016)

Province of Verona
Dott. Massimo Girelli (since 21.07.2016)